Hippoi Athanatoi

World Fantasy Awards Finalists

The finalists for the World Fantasy Awards , set to be handed out at the World Fantasy Convention, have been announced:


  • Kafka on the Shore, Haruki Murakami (Harvill; Knopf)
  • The Limits of Enchantment, Graham Joyce (Gollancz; Atria)
  • Lunar Park, Bret Easton Ellis (Knopf; Macmillan)
  • Od Magic, Patricia A. McKillip (Ace)
  • A Princess of Roumania, Paul Park (Tor)
  • Vellum, Hal Duncan (Macmillan; Del Rey)


  • Another War, Simon Morden (Telos Publishing)
  • “The Imago Sequence”, Laird Barron (F&SF May 2005)
  • “In the Machine”, Michael Cunningham (Speciman Days, Farrar, Straus and Giroux)
  • “Magic for Beginners”, Kelly Link (Magic for Beginners, Small Beer Press; F&SF Sep 2005)
  • “UOUS”, Tanith Lee (The Fair Folk, SFBC)
  • Voluntary Committal, Joe Hill (Subterranean Press)


  • “Best New Horror”, Joe Hill (Postscripts #3, Spr 2005)
  • “CommComm”, George Saunders (The New Yorker 1 Aug 2005)
  • “The Other Grace”, Holly Phillips (In the Palace of Repose, Prime Books)
  • “La Peau Verte”, Caitlin R. Kiernan (To Charles Fort, With Love, Subterranean Press)
  • “Two Hearts”, Peter S. Beagle (F&SF Oct/Nov 2005)


  • Adventure Vol. 1, Chris Roberson, ed. (MonkeyBrain Books)
  • The Fair Folk, Marvin Kaye, ed. (SFBC)
  • Nova Scotia: New Scottish Speculative Fiction, Neil Williamson & Andrew J. Wilson, eds. (Crescent Books)
  • Polyphony 5, Deborah Layne & Jay Lake, eds. (Wheatland Press)
  • Weird Shadows Over Innsmouth, Stephen Jones, ed. (Fedogan & Bremer)


  • 20th Century Ghosts, Joe Hill (PS Publishing)
  • In the Palace of Repose, Holly Phillips (Prime Books)
  • The Keyhole Opera, Bruce Holland Rogers (Wheatland Press)
  • Magic for Beginners, Kelly Link (Small Beer Press)
  • To Charles Fort, with Love, Caitlin R. Kiernan (Subterranean Press)


  • Kinuko Y. Craft
  • James Jean
  • Dave McKean
  • Edward Miller (Les Edwards)
  • John Jude Palencar


  • Susan Allison & Ginjer Buchanan (for Ace Books)
  • Lou Anders (for editing at Pyr)
  • Peter Lavery (for Pan MacMillan UK/Tor UK)
  • Chris Roberson & Allison Baker (for MonkeyBrain Books)
  • Sean Wallace (for Prime Books)
  • S. T. Joshi & Stefan Dziemanowicz, eds. (for Supernatural Literature of the World: An Encyclopedia, Greenwood Press)


Commenting is not available in this channel entry.